Thinking of suicide? Read me

I was recently talking with a new friend I made online, who will actually soon become a relative.
She was telling me how she was involved in something horrific and so devastating I just could not comprehend how she would have felt and would still be feeling. We were talking about some pretty deep stuff and were discussing the topic above.

What are you thoughts on suicide?
Are you directly or indirectly involved with it?

I know it is a touchy topic, so please don’t feel pressured to share.

takingthemaskoff

“You see the giant and the shepherd in the valley and Elah and your eye is drawn to the man with the sword and shield and the glittering armor. But so much of what is beautiful and valuable in the world comes from the shepherd, who has more strength and purpose than we can ever imagine.”

 -Malcolm Gladwell

 

image

I survived a suicide attempt, spent years in rehab centers, jails, psych hospitals. Now I have worked as a staff, and at times as a supervisor at these type of facilities.

However my friend, he did not. This is what suicide looks like. This is him after hanging himself, right before he died. February 25th 2010.

 

The difference between us is nothing except our resources. He grew up in rough environment, by that I mean school, neighborhood, friends, and life experiences.

I try to preach getting to know each patient…

View original post 1,910 more words

Leave a Reply

